SPoC: Protecting Patient Privacy for e-Health Services in the Cloud

Fan, L., Buchanan, W., Lo, O., Thuemmler, C., Lawson, A., Uthmani, O., Ekonomou, E., Khedim, A. (2012). SPoC: Protecting Patient Privacy for e-Health Services in the Cloud. In: (Ed.) eTELEMED 2012, , () ( ed.). (pp. 99-104). : . .


ISBN: 978-1-61208-179-3
ISSN:

Abstract

The use of digital technologies in providing health care services is in general subsumed under the term e-Health. The Data Capture and Auto Identification Reference (DACAR) project provides an open e-Health service platform that reinforces the integrity, security, confidentiality and auditability of medical data throughout their life-cycle. This paper presents the design and implementation of the core component of this platform, namely the Single Point of Contact (SPoC). A SPoC is essentially a security authority that provides claim-based authentication and authorisation functionalities, and facilitates the development and integration of secure e-Health services hosted within a Cloud Computing environment.
[Read More]

Authors

William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Lu Fan
Senior Research Fellow
l.fan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2438
Alistair Lawson
Associate Professor (Reader)
al.lawson@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2730
Christoph Thuemmler
Professor
c.thuemmler@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2758
Elias Ekonomou
Lecturer
E.Ekonomou@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2789
Abou Sofyane Khedim
Affiliate Research Associate
a.khedim@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2775
Owen Lo
Research Fellow
o.lo@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Omair Uthmani
Academic
o.uthmani@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455

Areas of Expertise

Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Associated Projects

    Keywords: e-health, security