Will Quantum Computers Be The End Of Public Key Encryption?

19/09/2016

News image

Introduction

Prof Alan Woodward, on 21 Sept 2016, in Edinburgh, will present his paper "Will Quantum Computers Be The End Of Public Key Encryption?" live at a sold-out Cryptography conference, and which will be beamed live to the world.

In his presentation, Prof Woodward will show how quantum computers could crack secure communications, and where we would not be able to prove the identity of users and computers on the Internet.

One of the targets for Quantum Computers is RSA, and which is a standard method of public key encryption. RSA, and other public key methods, are typically used to prove identity on the Internet and in protecting the exchange of encryption keys. They, unfortunately, would be easily cracked if a quantum computer was built. This would crack secure tunnels (HTTPs), and no identity on the Internet could be trusted.

We thus have to quickly consider a migration away from RSA towards something like Lattice cryptography, otherwise we will wake up one day, and nothing could really be trusted on the Internet.

Details of the programme are here:

http://thecyberacademy.org/crypto/

Outline

The race for a true supercomputer is on, but there's one contender who could trump them all, and leave them all behind.

With the Cloud increasingly providing massively parallel systems, there is one type of computer which will cause shock waves around the world, and change everything that we know... the quantum computer.

And so recently Google, along with Nasa, announced that they had proven that their quantum computer works, and that it could be over 100 million times faster than existing processors. So after the transistor, and the integrated circuit, and the microprocessor, it has been a while since there has been the potential of such a seismic change in technology ... so get ready!

Additional

Details on where you can read the paper will be announced at the conference.

The event is hosted by The Cyber Academy, which is an organisation which supports innovation, research and knowledge exchange on an international level.

 
[Read More]

Associated people

Peter Aaby
Research student
p.aaby@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Charley Celice
Researcher
c.celice@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Lynn Crawford
Project Manager (Cyber Academy)
L.Crawford@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2635
Elias Ekonomou
Lecturer
E.Ekonomou@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2789
Owen Lo
Research Fellow
o.lo@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Naghmeh Moradpoor
Lecturer in Cybersecurity and Networks
N.Moradpoor@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2596
Adrian Smales
Research Fellow
a.smales@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Zhiyuan Tan
Lecturer
Z.Tan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2822
William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Gabrielle Cleary
PhD Student
+44 131 455
Marian Dunbar
Administrator
M.Dunbar@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2711
Petra Leimich
Lecturer in Security and Networks
P.Leimich@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2593
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
Gordon Russell
Senior Lecturer
g.russell@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2754
Grzegorz Spyra
Research student
G.Spyra@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Elochukwu Ukwandu
Resarch Student
E.Ukwandu@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 +44 131 455 2789
Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Resources