The Cyber Academy Presents "The Magic of Cyber Security"

05/09/2016

News image
The Cyber Academy thinks that Cyber Security doesn't always have to be scary, and are hosting a fun and informative public engagement event on "The Magic of Cyber Security".

It runs at 6:30pm on Thursday 8 Sept 2016 on the Craiglockhart Campus, and will contain "never been seen before" tricks in Cyber Security. You can register here:

Magic of Cyber Security

This public engagement event is open to all – professionals, students, and, well anyone – and will outline a range of fun, interactive and live demonstrations of how the most of secure of systems and methods can be broken.


In the presentation Eve the Magician will aim to show how an easy it is to break the security of even the most complex of systems and methods, including for complex cryptography, embedded systems, smart phones, and secure tunnels.


It includes magic tricks and demonstrations on how some of the most complex cryptography can be broken, and a wide range of new viewpoints on the security methods, along with live and interactive demonstrations on why things in information technology and even hardware devices, such as your mobile phone, can never be completely trusted.


Date: Thursday, 8 September 2016.
Time: 6:30pm-8pm.
Place: The Lindsay Stewart,  Craiglockhart Campus, Edinburgh.

 
[Read More]

Associated people

Peter Aaby
Research student
p.aaby@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Charley Celice
Researcher
c.celice@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Marian Dunbar
Administrator
M.Dunbar@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2711
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Lynn Crawford
Project Manager (Cyber Academy)
L.Crawford@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2635
Owen Lo
Research Fellow
o.lo@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Computing Education
Computing Education shares many of the same challenges of general education but it also has a few unique challenges which the researchers in this area are exploring through a range of funded projects and collaborative national and international projects.

Resources