The Cyber Academy Showcases Crypto Key Leakage and a Quantum World

30/08/2016

News image

Introduction

The Cyber Academy aims to showcase some of the smartest and most disruptive research around, and on 21 Sept 2016 it hosts some international leaders in the world of cryptography.

You can come and see live by registering here, or watch live (URL will be confirmed soon), or watch on The Cyber Academy channel.

The two major presentations are by Prof Alan Woodward, and Dr Owen/Doug Carson/Charley Celice. Along with this, the event will also include a Crypto CTF (more details to follow).

Looking at state-of-the-art

Professor Alan Woodward, from the University of Surrey, will look at how conventional computing has developed in its power and the limitations that we are rapidly approaching.

One answer to the limitations of silicon based conventional computing is the development of quantum computers. In this he aims to introduce the basic quantum physical principles behind quantum computers, and talk about some of the candidate technologies that are competing for the crown.

Along with this he'll provide a a gentle introduction to a specific quantum algorithm (Shor’s algorithm) and explain why it has some profound implications for the current, most popular encryption schemes that we all rely upon daily.

Side channel attacks

Dr Owen Lo, Doug Carson (from Keysight) and Charley Celice then aim to finish the conference by outlining the methods of monitoring devices for their electrical power drain and radio emissions, in order to determine both the classifications of the encryption method and the encryption key.

It will provide practical demonstration of cracking cryptography from monitoring things like the electrical power drain, the radio wave emission, and from monitoring input/output ports, such as from the audio port.

 
[Read More]

Associated people

Peter Aaby
Research student
p.aaby@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Lynn Crawford
Project Manager (Cyber Academy)
L.Crawford@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2635
Elias Ekonomou
Lecturer
E.Ekonomou@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2789
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
Gordon Russell
Senior Lecturer
g.russell@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2754
Zhiyuan Tan
Lecturer
Z.Tan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2822
Alexandre Arbelet
Researcher
A.Arbelet@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Charley Celice
Researcher
c.celice@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Marian Dunbar
Administrator
M.Dunbar@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2711
Petra Leimich
Lecturer in Security and Networks
P.Leimich@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2593
Naghmeh Moradpoor
Lecturer in Cybersecurity and Networks
N.Moradpoor@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2596
Adrian Smales
Research Fellow
a.smales@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Elochukwu Ukwandu
Resarch Student
E.Ukwandu@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 +44 131 455 2789
Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Resources