Research Team Wins Third Major Research Project Award In The Last Two Weeks

30/11/2015

News image
The Cyber Academy was won its third research project grant in the last two weeks for its novel triage methods in digital forensics. The Stage 1 funding is likely to lead to a large-scale research project with a significant impact in detecting digital fragments on computer systems. More details will follow.

The work aims to create a new spin-out company, and which will become the third spin-out from the team. The other two spin-outs are are Zonefox [here] and Symphonic Trust [here].

Overall the research work builds on research undertaken by Phil Penrose:

Two other grants, though the HEA and The Data Labs are also being finalised, and which will further develop an advanced security operations centre, and in Big Data Capture and Analysis within live forensics, with a special focus on detecting encryption keys.
 
[Read More]

Associated people

William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
Bruce Ramsay
Senior Research Fellow
B.Ramsay@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2746
Aileen Wood
Innovation Manager / Project Manager
A.Wood@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 6283
Owen Lo
Research Fellow
o.lo@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Philip Penrose
Research student
P.Penrose@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Gordon Russell
Senior Lecturer
g.russell@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2754
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET)
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET) will create new training methods/techniques to support judicial authorities, law enforcement agencies and associated stakeholders in the fight against cybercrime through the development of a virtual (cloud-based) cybercrime training environment to...
Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Resources