The Cyber Academy Wins Major Project Funding For Next Generation Security Operations Centre for Training

07/11/2015

News image

The Cyber Academy will receive over £200K in research funding to build a next generation Virtual Security Operations Centre (vSoC) for training. The research grant involves over £160K of direct funding (from grants and industry funding), with the addition of other resources for technical support.

This new funding will build on the current EU-funded DFET project, which has project partners in Slovenia and Sweden. In the next few weeks there will be an announcement of the full details of what is being built and on the grant, including industrial funders.

The aim is to build one of the most advanced training infrastructures for Security Operation Centers, with real-life devices, tools and packages, such as with state-of-the-art SIEM solutions, such as HP ArcSight, RSA Security Analytics and Splunk.

The team also hope to team up with a local company to integrate SDN (Software Defined Network) which will support the vSoC in a new data centre in London, and which will run in parallel with our Edinburgh-based one.

The vSoC training will initially be rolled-out to a number of collaboration agencies, including Police Scotland, SBRC and the Scottish Government, and also to train the increasing numbers of graduates working with SoCs.

Plans are also underway to roll out the training infrastructure across academic departments across Europe (and the US).

More details here ...

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/cyber-academy-wins-major-project-funding-next-center-william-buchanan

 
[Read More]

Associated people

William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
Gordon Russell
Senior Lecturer
g.russell@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2754
Sally Smith
Dean of School
s.smith@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2742
Marian Dunbar
Administrator
M.Dunbar@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2711
Bruce Ramsay
Senior Research Fellow
B.Ramsay@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2746
Adrian Smales
Research Fellow
a.smales@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Aileen Wood
Innovation Manager / Project Manager
A.Wood@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 6283
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET)
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET) will create new training methods/techniques to support judicial authorities, law enforcement agencies and associated stakeholders in the fight against cybercrime through the development of a virtual (cloud-based) cybercrime training environment to...
Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Resources