A strong showing by the Centre for Social Informatics at i3 2015

29/06/2015

The Centre for Social Informatics had a strong presence last week at Information, Interactions and Impact: i3 2015.

i3 is an international conference, held on a biennial basis in the UK. This event brings together an international community of academic and practitioner researchers to explore the quality and effectiveness of the interactions between people and information, and how such interactions can bring about change. This year it took place at the Aberdeen Business School, Robert Gordon University from Tuesday June 23rd to Friday June 26th.

In total six papers were presented at the conference by five research students from the Centre for Social Informatics:

  1. How can information literacy be modelled from a lifelong learning perspective? by Christine Irving, Alison Brettle and Hazel Hall.
  2. The role of the census in public policy-making: information practices of policy makers by Lynn Killick, Alistair Duff, Mark Deakin and Hazel Hall.
  3. Could social networking online help NEET young people gain employment? by John MowbrayHazel Hall and Robert Raeside.
  4. The impact of community grassroots campaigns on public library closures in the UK by John Mowbray and Hazel Hall
  5. A KM implementation as management innovation: the impact of an agent of change by Louise Rasmussen and Hazel Hall.
  6. Assessing the available and accessible evidence: how personal reputations are determined and managed online by Frances Ryan, Peter Cruickshank, Hazel Hall and Alistair Lawson.
Three of these papers were selected by the International Programme Committee of i3 as suitable for submission for the Journal of Information Science: (1) Irving, Hall & Brettle, (2) Killick, Duff, Deakin & Hall and (3) Rasmussen & Hall.

Professor Hazel Hall also served on the International Programme Committee of i3, and as a session chair at the conference itself.
 
[Read More]

Associated people

Peter Cruickshank
Lecturer
p.cruickshank@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2309
Hazel Hall
Director of CSI
h.hall@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2760
Alistair Lawson
Associate Professor (Reader)
al.lawson@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2730
Robert Raeside
Professor (Affiliate to IIDI)
R.Raeside@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 4308
Frances Ryan
Research student
f.ryan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Mark Deakin
Professor (Affiliate to CSI)
M.Deakin@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2480
Lynn Killick
Research student
l.killick@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2303
John Mowbray
Research Student
j.mowbray@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Louise Rasmussen
Research Student
l.rasmussen@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455

Resources