International Cyber Academy Launch on 6 May 2015

19/03/2015

News image

Edinburgh Napier University is hosting the launch of a new International Cyber Academy on 6 May 2015. It will be officially launched by Cyber Security leaders from a range of organisations, including from the NCA and Dell Secureworks.

The Cyber Academy is based on a foundation of existing EU funding (d-fet.eu)

The Cyber Academy’s Aims

The aims of the Academy are to:

  • Integrate Teaching, Professional Practice and Research into an advanced academic infrastructure.
  • Provide international leadership in Cyber Security, especially related to education and professional development.
  • Support the development of flexible training programmes.with academic credits.
  • Support innovation in Cyber Security from the initial ideas, through funded PhD programs, and onto the end-product.
  • Provide a platform for the debate and articulation of key issues in Cyber Security.
  • Provide access to members to an advanced and virtualized training infrastructure for Cyber Security, for both evaluation and training.
  • Provide integrated academic support for a range of roles from Apprentice Cyber Security professionals to Advanced Research-focused levels.
  • Provide a mechanism for increased interaction between organisations and students.
  •  Integrate with the requirements of law enforcement, industry and the public sector.

How will it work?

The key modes of operation are:

  1. Collaborative and inclusive model. The Cyber Academy is a partnership between academia, law enforcement, industry and the public sector, and aims to collaborate with a wide range of organisations on delivering on the key aims for the benefit of its partners.
  2. Membership. It is free to join the Academy at Associate-level, and which will allow organisations to be part of the infrastructure with support for a strong working relationship. Other levels of membership, such as around research and innovation sponsorship, are available and can be discussed with the team.
  3. Dissemination. The Cyber Academy will support a wide range of Conferences, Symposiums and Workshops, each focusing on key topics related to Cyber Security, with a special focus on Innovation, Professional Development and Education.
  4. Professional Development. The Cyber Academy integrates with a wide range of professional bodies, and aims to fully integrate academic structures with professional practice and training.

Current international integration

The Cyber Academy integrates formally with a range of international initiatives, with a special focus on Cyber Security education. This includes integration into the EU-funded DFET project, which is building a virtualised infrastructure for Cyber Security training, and with the EU 2Center Network of Excellence, along with strong links into GCHQ and the NCA.

Contact details: Prof Bill Buchanan.

Email: w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk

 
[Read More]

Associated people

Jamie Brogan
Affiliate Consultant
J.Brogan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 3211/07714 332082
Peter Cruickshank
Lecturer
p.cruickshank@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2309
Lu Fan
Senior Research Fellow
l.fan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2438
Robert Ludwiniak
Lecturer
r.ludwiniak@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2780
Philip Penrose
Research student
P.Penrose@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Gordon Russell
Senior Lecturer
g.russell@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2754
Sally Smith
Dean of School
s.smith@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2742
William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Marian Dunbar
Administrator
M.Dunbar@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2711
Owen Lo
Research Fellow
o.lo@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
Bruce Ramsay
Senior Research Fellow
B.Ramsay@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2746
Adrian Smales
Research Fellow
a.smales@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Aileen Wood
Innovation Manager / Project Manager
A.Wood@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 6283
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET)
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET) will create new training methods/techniques to support judicial authorities, law enforcement agencies and associated stakeholders in the fight against cybercrime through the development of a virtual (cloud-based) cybercrime training environment to...
Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Resources