Symposium on Cyber Risks, Opportunities and Education set for sell-out of tickets

03/12/2014

News image

Introduction

The annual Symposium on Cyber Risks, Opportunities and Education is heading for a complete sell-out this year, with tickets going fast. The event aims to be the largest so-far, and is an opportunity to debate some of the key threats and opportunties with Cyber Security.

This symposium brings together knowledge from many different domains in order to create knowledge exchange and collaborative infrastructures, which address the key cyber risks that Scotland and the UK faces.

Key focal points are:

  • Education and Training within Cyber Education.
  • Cybercrime Risks, Malware Analysis/Detection and Fraud.
  • Security Data Gathering and Analytics.
  • Cyber Risks, Resilience and Failover.
  • Governance, auditability and accountability in the Cloud.
  • Information Sharing across the Public and Private Sector.
  • Critical Infrastructure and First Response.
  • Real-time Analytics on Risks.
  • Risks to privacy and identity theft.

There will be a special focus on key areas such as the skills gap in cyber education, law enforcement training, and in the provision of a range of training infrastuctures. The work is supported within the DFET EU project, which aims to train security professionals in key areas of malware, fraud and related areas.

The event is sponsored by Farrpoint and G2G3.

More details here.

 
[Read More]

Associated people

William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Marian Dunbar
Administrator
M.Dunbar@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2711
Lu Fan
Senior Research Fellow
l.fan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2438
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
Adrian Smales
Research Fellow
a.smales@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Peter Cruickshank
Lecturer
p.cruickshank@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2309
Elias Ekonomou
Lecturer
E.Ekonomou@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2789
Alistair Lawson
Associate Professor (Reader)
al.lawson@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2730
Bruce Ramsay
Senior Research Fellow
B.Ramsay@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2746
Aileen Wood
Innovation Manager / Project Manager
A.Wood@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 6283
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET)
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET) will create new training methods/techniques to support judicial authorities, law enforcement agencies and associated stakeholders in the fight against cybercrime through the development of a virtual (cloud-based) cybercrime training environment to...
Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Resources