New Year Cyber Security Symposium aims to showcase opportunties in the Cyber Age

28/10/2014

News image

Outline

The Xmas Cyber Symposium becomes a New Year Symposium, and this year it will be even bigger, with talks from the leaders in the area of Cyber Security. [Details]

The main focus of the Symposium is to investigate the risks caused by Cyber threats, including their impact on business, individuals and society. There will also be a wide range of prizes for students, with a special focus on education and training within cyber security.

Aim and Focus

This symposium aims to bring together knowledge from many different domains in order to create knowledge exchange and collaborative infrastructures, which address the key cyber risks that Scotland and the UK faces. Key focal points are:

  • Education and Training within Cyber Education.
  • Cybercrime Risks, Malware Analysis/Detection and Fraud.
  • Security Data Gathering and Analytics.
  • Cyber Risks, Resilience and Failover.
  • Governance, auditability and accountability in the Cloud.
  • Information Sharing across the Public and Private Sector.
  • Critical Infrastructure and First Response.
  • Real-time Analytics on Risks.
  • Risks to privacy and identity theft.

There will be a special focus on key areas such as the skills gap in cyber education, law enforcement training, and in the provision of a range of training infrastuctures. The work is supported within the DFET EU project, which aims to train security professionals in key areas of malware, fraud and related areas.

Booking a place

It will be the place to hear about the dawning the Cyber Age, with key talks from:

  • Andy Archibald, Head of the National Cyber Crime Unit, National Crime Agency (UK). Profile.

  • David Ferbrache OBE, Special Advisor Cyber Security, KPMG (UK). Profile.

  • Don Smith, Technology Director, Dell SecureWorks. Profile.


The event will be held at the Craiglockhart Campus, Edinburgh on Thursday 8 Jan 2015. To book your place, go to: http://cybersym.eventbrite.co.uk/

The event will be co-hosted by Farrpoint.

 
[Read More]

Associated people

William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Elias Ekonomou
Lecturer
E.Ekonomou@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2789
Owen Lo
Research Fellow
o.lo@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
Gordon Russell
Senior Lecturer
g.russell@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2754
Marian Dunbar
Administrator
M.Dunbar@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2711
Lu Fan
Senior Research Fellow
l.fan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2438
Robert Ludwiniak
Lecturer
r.ludwiniak@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2780
Bruce Ramsay
Senior Research Fellow
B.Ramsay@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2746
Adrian Smales
Research Fellow
a.smales@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET)
Dynamic Forensics Evaluation and Training (DFET) will create new training methods/techniques to support judicial authorities, law enforcement agencies and associated stakeholders in the fight against cybercrime through the development of a virtual (cloud-based) cybercrime training environment to...
Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Resources