Cyber Security Teaching Team is a Finalist for Best Teaching Teaching in Postgraduate Awards

24/09/2014

News image

Introduction

After the success of the gaining GCHQ certification for their MSc, the Cyber Security team continue their strive for excellence as a finalist for the Best Teaching Teaching Team in 2014 Prospectus Postgraduate Awards.

The teaching team includes: Prof Bill Buchanan, Dr Gordon Russell, Richard Macfarlane, Robert Ludwiniak, Peter Cruickshank, Dr Elias Ekonomou, Dr Lu Fan, and Bruce Ramsay.

Richard Macfarlane and Dr Gordon Russell are currently are the programme leaders for the MSc in Advanced Security and Digital Forensics, and the MSc in Cybercrime, respectively.

Details of the courses: here.

Award

The award is student nominated, with a case for the award. Overall the team at Edinburgh have innovated within their MSc programme including with virtualised environments to support practical work and also with an extensive usage of online lectures and associated Web-based. The team also work fairly intensively with industry, in order that the programme is kept up-to-date, and which provides students with the skills required within current industry practice.

The award ceremony is 10 November 2014 in Manchester.

 
[Read More]

Associated people

William Buchanan
Director of CDCS
w.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2759
Elias Ekonomou
Lecturer
E.Ekonomou@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2789
Robert Ludwiniak
Lecturer
r.ludwiniak@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2780
Bruce Ramsay
Senior Research Fellow
B.Ramsay@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2746
Peter Cruickshank
Lecturer
p.cruickshank@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2309
Lu Fan
Senior Research Fellow
l.fan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2438
Richard Macfarlane
Lecturer
r.macfarlane@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2335
Gordon Russell
Senior Lecturer
g.russell@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2754
Cyber-Security
Electronic information now plays a vital role in almost every aspect of our daily lives. So the need for a secure and trustworthy online infrastructure is more important than ever. without it, not only the growth of the internet but our personal interactions and the economy itself could be at risk.

Resources