Faculty Research Conference 2014

13/05/2014 Lindsay Stewart Lecture Theatre, Craiglockhart Campus

News image
Research students and staff from the 3 FECCI schools (SACI, SEBE and SOC) gathered on Tuesday for the annual faculty research conference.

Professor Annette Markham delivered the keynote: Remix(ing) methods, remix(ing) disciplines: Provocations for grappling with complexity in digitally-saturated research contexts. This was the inspiration for lively conversations throughout the day and into the following week.

In a first for the conference, the day was punctuated by 2 musical interludes, provided by students from SACI, including a piece composed specially for the day.

Post-doctoral researchers presented a current project from each school and then formed a panel, for Q&A, with a focus on applying for and implementing funded research.

Eleven first year students, from the 3 schools, each presented a 20x20 style introduction to their research.
Three students in the equivilant of their second year presented their work and answered questions, followed by the same format for three students (one from each school) from 3rd and later years. Posters were displayed over lunch.

More information about the presentations and music is available on the conference webpage.

The day finished a reception and prizes.

This was one of the most successful faculty conferences of recent years, with a good attendance and positive feedback.

Tweets form the day may be available using the hashtag #FECCI14.
 
[Read More]

Associated people

Aurelien Ammeloot
Research student
a.ammeloot@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2964
Brian Davison
Lecturer
b.davison@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2373
Hazel Hall
Director of CSI
h.hall@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2760
Imed Romdhani
Lecturer
i.romdhani@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2726
Ella Taylor-Smith
Senior Research Fellow
e.taylor-smith@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2392
Serkan Ayan
Research Student
S.Ayan@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2791
Mohamed Eshaftri
Research student
M.Eshaftri@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 07877588802
Oli Mival
Principal Research Fellow
o.mival@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2761
Michael Smyth
Associate Professor
m.smyth@napier.ac.uk
+44 131 455 2733

Resources